movies1 Film News



0845 165 1599

Yorgos Lanthimos' black comedy The Favourite leads the nominations for the 39th annual London Critics' Circle Film Awards, with 10 nominations, including Film, Director, Screenwriter, Actress for Olivia Colman and Supporting Actress for Rachel Weisz. In addition, the film is nominated for British/Irish Film of the Year.

Pedro Almodóvar is the recipient of this year's top honour, The Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film.

After The Favourite's 10 nominations, the next most nominated films are Pawel Pawlikowski's Cold War, Rupert Everett's The Happy Prince, Alfonso Cuarón's Roma and Lynne Ramsay's You Were Never Really Here, each of which earned five nominations. These five films are in contention for Film of the Year alongside BlacKkKlansman, First Man, First Reformed, Leave No Trace and this year's Cannes Palme d'Or winner Shoplifters.

The winners will be announced on Sunday 20 January.